2024 Conference


A line up of international and national speakers will look at the status and trends in energy policy and regulation, primary fuel supply and demand, technology changes, markets and disruption, emissions and consumer issues.

Delegates can expect a strong focus on Western Australia with thoughtful and candid discussion from the expert panels.

Our confirmed 2024 speakers will be updated as the program develops, so please check back regularly to see the latest speaker line up.

Placeholder speaker imageHon Reece Whitby MLA
Hon Reece Whitby MLA
Western Australian Minister for Energy; Environment; Climate Action
WA Government
Western Australia

Reece has overseen government departments responsible for protecting Western Australia’s environment since December 2021 and regained the Racing and Gaming portfolio in December 2022.

Placeholder speaker imageSam Barbaro
Sam Barbaro
Western Power
Western Australia

Sam was appointed Western Power CEO in August 2022. He has been a member of the Executive team since 2014 serving firstly as the Executive Manager of the Governance & Assurance and then the Executive Manager Asset Operations.

Placeholder speaker imageStephanie Unwin
Stephanie Unwin
Horizon Power
Western Australia

As Chief Executive Officer of Horizon Power, Stephanie Unwin leads Australia’s only vertically integrated energy utility and is responsible for the largest geographical catchment of any Australian power provider, covering an area more than one quarter of the Australian continent.

Placeholder speaker imageKate Ryan
Kate Ryan
Executive General Manager WA & Strategy
Western Australia

Kate Ryan is responsible for leading the Western Australia function and AEMO’s corporate strategy. Kate joined AEMO in February 2022, and has extensive knowledge and experience built over decades in the energy industry.

Placeholder speaker imageDr Alice E. A. Evatt
Dr Alice E. A. Evatt
Research Fellow on Net Zero for the Fossil Fuel Sector
University of Oxford

Placeholder speaker imageDr Kate George
Dr Kate George
Principal Consultant
Claypan Services
Western Australia

Dr Kate George is a Putejurra woman from the Murchison-Gascoyne region in Western Australia. She was born on the 494 mile peg of the rabbit-proof fence and belongs to the Putejurra people who are part of the Martu of the Western Desert. She spent 14 years in a Perth institution from the age of 3. She was the first Aboriginal student to graduate in law from the Australian National University, the first Aboriginal woman admitted to practice law in WA, and one of the first Aboriginal women to chair an ASX-listed company.

Placeholder speaker imageRoland Short
Roland Short
Principal Consultant - Social Performance
SLR Consulting

Placeholder speaker imageSarah Derham
Sarah Derham
Head of Sustainability
Collgar Renewables
Western Australia

Placeholder speaker imageMargot Hammond
Margot Hammond
Social Performance Manager
Western Power
Western Australia

Placeholder speaker imageJohn Hassell
John Hassell
General Section President (& Members' Representative for Renewable Energy Projects)
WA Farmers Federation
Western Australia

Placeholder speaker imageRachel Peterson
Rachel Peterson
Executive Director
California Public Utilities Commission
United States

Placeholder speaker imageKatie McKenzie
Katie McKenzie
Western Australia

Katie is an energy policy, regulation and stakeholder relations specialist pursuing her passion for a clean, consumer-centric energy transition.

Placeholder speaker imageSteve Duggan
Steve Duggan
General Manager
Energy & Resources Program Bureau of Meteorology
Western Australia

Placeholder speaker imageRoss De Rango
Ross De Rango
Head of Energy & Infrastructure
Electric Vehicle Council

Placeholder speaker imageFabian Le Gay Brereton
Fabian Le Gay Brereton
Chief Executive Officer

Fabian Le Gay Brereton is a passionate clean energy entrepreneur and the Co-Founder and CEO of Gridcog, a groundbreaking startup dedicated to the clean energy transition.

Placeholder speaker imageDavid Fyfe
David Fyfe
Chief Executive Officer
Western Australia

David has more than 20 years' experience across the energy and telecommunications industries, including holding executive roles in operations, commercial sales, asset management and business development.

Placeholder speaker image2023 Speaker: Mary Burce Warlick
2023 Speaker: Mary Burce Warlick
Deputy Executive Director
International Energy Agency

A retired career diplomat and former U.S. Ambassador to Serbia, Ms. Warlick has held a variety of senior leadership positions at the U.S. Department of State, National Security Council and Department of Defense, serving in Washington and abroad.

Placeholder speaker image2023 Speaker: Naoki Takahashi
2023 Speaker: Naoki Takahashi
Chief Representative
Japan Bank for International Cooperation

Naoki Takahashi is Chief Representative of the Japan Bank for International Cooperation's Sydney Office

Placeholder speaker image2023 Speaker: Professor Rod Sims AO
2023 Speaker: Professor Rod Sims AO
Chair of the Superpower Institute
Professor, Australian National University

Rod Sims AO is Chair of the Superpower Institute, a non-profit organisation dedicated to Australia moving quickly to,and benefitting from, the transition to net zero emissions.

Placeholder speaker image2023 Speaker: Alan Finkel
2023 Speaker: Alan Finkel
Chair, Corporate Advisor and Author
Stile Education

Dr Alan Finkel AC is a neuroscientist, engineer, entrepreneur and philanthropist.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up to date on Energy Week and the Energy WA conference.

By subscribing you agree to receive updates from energywa.org.au about Energy Week and the Energy in WA Conference.